Paris is a long standing centre of diplomacy. Seat to many international organisations, the city has an important place in the history of global governance. Below is a list of the key Treaties negotiated and signed in Paris:  

  1. The Congress of Paris, held in 1856 in Versailles, ended the Crimean War.
  2. The 1919 Paris Peace Conference to end World War I opened in Salon de l’Horloge at the Quai d’Orsay. It concluded with a series of peace treaties, signed in Versailles, Saint-Germain, Neuilly, Hotel Trianon, and Sèvres. The treaties marked the dismantling of the Austrian and Ottoman empires, resulting in many new national borders, particularly in Eastern Europe and the Middle East. 
  3. The Paris Conference on Passports & Customs Formalities and Through Tickets was organised by the League of Nations in 1920 at the Quai D’Orsay. Before World War I, passports were generally not required. The conference set standards for passports issued by members of the League of Nations – standards which have remained much the same until today. 
  4. The 1954 Nine-Power Conference consisted of two related conferences in London and Paris to determine the status of Germany. It ended in full independence for the Federal Republic of Germany, admitting it as a NATO member and full European partner, opening the way for the current European Union. The final signature took place in the Salon de l’Horloge at the Quai D’Orsay.
  5. The 21st Conference of the Parties was held by the UNFCCC at Le Bourget Visparis, in 2015. This conference resulted in the 2015 Paris Agreement, one of the largest achievements to date in global climate action.